The Scriptures      Study Helps  | Search  | Options  | Marked  | Help  | English 
Print   < Previous  Next >
The New York, Pennsylvania, and Ohio Area of the USA
1. South Bainbridge Joseph Smith Jr. and Emma Hale were married here on 18 January 1827 (see JS-H 1:57).
2. Colesville The first branch of the Church was organized at the Joseph Knight Sr. home, in Colesville Township, in 1830.
3. Joseph Smith Jr. Home in Harmony Most of the translation of the Book of Mormon was completed here. On the banks of the Susquehanna River the priesthood was restored in 1829 (see D&C 13; 128:20; JS-H 1:71-72).
4. Fayette The Three Witnesses saw the gold plates and the angel Moroni (D&C 17). The Book of Mormon translation was completed here in June 1829. The Church was organized here on 6 April 1830 (see D&C 20, 21).
5. Mendon Early home of Brigham Young and Heber C. Kimball.
6. Kirtland Missionaries who had been sent to the Lamanites stopped here in 1830 and baptized Sidney Rigdon and others in the Kirtland area. It was the headquarters of the Church from 1831 to 1838. The first temple of this dispensation was built in Kirtland and was dedicated 27 March 1836 (see D&C 109).
7. Erie Canal The three branches of the Church in New York emigrated via the Erie Canal and Lake Erie to Kirtland, Ohio, in April and May 1831.
8. Hiram Joseph and Emma lived here from September 1831 to September 1832. Joseph and Sidney Rigdon worked on the Joseph Smith Translation of the Bible (JST). Revelations received here: D&C 1, 65, 67, 68, 69, 71, 73, 74, 76, 77, 79, 80, 81, 99, 133.
9. Amherst Joseph Smith was sustained as President of the High Priesthood on 25 January 1832 (see HC 1:243; D&C 75).
10. Toronto Home of John Taylor, third President of the Church, and Mary Fielding Smith, wife of Hyrum Smith.